3rd ANNUAL 

Game Changer's Luncheon

Our luncheon has been cancelled, but our desire to share our mission is stronger than ever. COVID-19 poses so much more than an interruption to our annual event. Its negative impact upon community well being and academic achievement will extend for months to come. There is an urgent need for all of us to consider the role we play during this crisis and beyond.  UVA law professor Dayna Bowen Matthew was scheduled to be our keynote speaker, and she has offered a video message to encourage your support of City of Promise. 



Dayna Bowen Matthew


Dayna Matthew is a game changer in public health who focuses on racial disparities in health care. She joined the University of Virginia faculty in 2017, and authored the book “Just Medicine: A Cure for Racial Inequality in American Health Care.” At UVA, she serves as director of The Equity Center, an initiative that seeks to build better relationships between UVA and the Charlottesville community and tangibly redress racial and socioeconomic inequality.

Matthew previously served on the University of Colorado law faculty as a professor, vice dean and associate dean of academic affairs. She was a member of the Center for Bioethics and Humanities on the Anschutz Medical Campus and held a joint appointment at the Colorado School of Public Health. You may read Dayna's full bio here.


  • J.D., University of Virginia School of Law, 1987

  • Ph.D. University of Colorado at Denver,2018

  • B.A., Harvard-Radcliffe College


Many thanks to those who have already contributed during fiscal year 2020.

We will continually update this list throughout the spring.

Adiuvans Fund


Joseph Arcidicono

Bama Works Fund of Dave Matthews Band

Rebecca Bassett

Batten Family Fund

Kristine Bean

Mary Bennett

Andrew and Kelli Block Family Fund

Brookfield Bocock Fund

Brad Bodager

Melissa Boese

Elizabeth Bordogna

Paul Huddleston & Dori Boudreau

Ellen Bouton

Bowerbird Bakeshop

Cathy Boyd

Hillary Bracken

Elizabeth L Breeden

Elizabeth Brightbill

Hal and Sharon Beckman-Brindley

Katherine Brooks

Derek Brown

Jacki Bryant

Maggie Buchanan

Jessica Buie

Prana Fund at CACF

Brevy Cannon

Vito and Bevin Cetta

Dave Chapman

Johanna and Derwood Chase

Emmanuel Episcopal Church

Signe Clayton

Leslie Cockburn

Becca Cole

Wanda Coleman

Joe and Mary Coleman

Common House

Davenport & Company

James & Wendy Craig

Molly Crouch

Dairy Market

Diana Dale

Jeff Dalke

John Davis

Sharon Deal

Katrina Debnam

Greta Dershimer

Bobby and Pattie Downer

Charlotte Drummond

Frank Dukes

John Dumm

Uconda Dunn

Jane Erwine

Jamie Estes

Patrick Tolan and Virginia Evans

Kyle Falk

Anne Ferguson

James Finucane

Margarita Figueroa

Carl & Pattie Frischkorn

Hartfield Foundation

Manning Family Foundation

Charlottesville Area Community Foundation

Cassandra Fraser

Frank & Sue Friedman

Georgia Garrett

Martin Goldrick

Sara Goodwin

Fred & Stasia Greenwalt

Judith Grissmer

Alexandra London-Gross

Journey Group

Sarah Hamfeldt

William Harvey

Lloyd Snook, III and Sheila Haughey

Thomas C & Mary Ann Hays Family Charitable Trust

James and Mary Holden

Alan Hostetler

Byron and Jennifer Hulsey

Nancy Hunt

John Hunt

Elizabeth Irvin

Steven Johnson

Joan Kammire

Sara Rimm-Kaufman

David Kershner

Kate Kessler

Elaine Knight

Amanda Korman

Brett Krasner

Melissa Levy

William Lewis, Jr.

Liseron, LLC

Peyton and Bill Lewis

Peppy Linden

Stony Point Design/Build LLC

Magnolia Consulting LLC

Janet Lohr

Lisa Lorish

Rosemary Mahoney

Henry McHenry, Jr.

Mary McIntyre

Tim and Virginia Michel

Susen Miller

Miller School of Albemarle

Jodi Mills

Carter Myers

Carol Hurst and Jon Nafziger

Michelle Nelson

Mo and Lacy Nichols

Richard and Julia Nunley

Nancy O'Brien

Bertrand Page

Anna Maria Park

Silvia Park

Paige Perriello

Marilynn Philippi

Jacqueline and John Pickering

Pi Lamda Phi

Brandon Podyma

Rebecca Reid

Ravi Respeto

Katharine Richardson

Lucy B. Robertson Rohweder

John Philbrick and Mary Ropka

Eve Schwartz

Bill and Missy Shenkir

Jane and Dennis Sigloh Fund

Ann Smith

Jodie Stevens

Alfred Strickler

Joe & Kristin Szakos

David Temple, Jr.

Charlie and Ann Thacher

Teresa Thelin

Elsie Thompson

Art Thorn

Virginia Evans and Patrick Tolan

Matt Toper

Tom Twomey

United Way Thomas Jefferson Area

Andrea Vest

Erika Viccellio

Tom Walsh

David & Bitsy Waters

Mary Webb

Roxanne White

Brian Williams

John and Susan Wilson

Melvin Wilson

Wolf Josey Landscape Architects

Niphattha Wongwiset

John and Trula Wright

Jimmy and Liz Wright

Ian Solla-Yates

YourCause S&P Global